Carol Pouliot Books

Read them again from the beginning!
Click on the cover to learn more.

Death Rang the Bell

The Blackwell and Watson Time-Travel Mysteries
Book 3

21st-century journalist Olivia Watson thinks traveling back in time to 1934 to attend a Halloween party with her friend Detective Steven Blackwell will be a lot of fun. And it is…until she witnesses the head of the Shipley Five-and-Dime empire murdered, and fears the killer saw her face.

The smart move is to return to the safety of the present, but Olivia possesses a secret and is about to defy the unwritten rules of time-travel. She convinces Steven to let her stay in his time and help unravel the motives behind the murder, even if it means risking her own life to save another.

When Steven delves into the investigation, he discovers how a bitter relationship, a chance encounter, and a fateful decision converged to set the stage for murder. In a maze full of unreliable clues and misdirection, dark secrets refuse to stay buried and forgotten ghosts won’t fade away. Steven is reminded that old sins cast long shadows.

Available at your favorite bookstore and

PRAISE FOR Death Rang the Bell

A delightfully immersive story, filled with surprising twists and turns, a touch of romance— plus a heroine you will happily follow as she jumps between decades, DEATH RANG THE BELL is a truly great escape.
      Alison Gaylin, USA Today and international bestselling author

Olivia Watson discovers the veil between current day and 1934 is thin as she steps between the two time periods to help solve mysteries that occurred long before she was born. This intriguing and beautifully written series will draw you in and make you feel right at home in a time period you’ll wish you could visit. 
     Grace Topping, USA Today bestselling author of the Laura Bishop

     Mystery Series.


The Blackwell and Watson Time-Travel Mysteries
Book 2

On a sunny spring day in 1934, local lothario Frankie Russo is murdered in broad daylight. It seems no one saw anything, but things are not always what they seem in this small New York town.

Tackling the investigation, Detective Steven Blackwell discovers Frankie’s little black book, a coded list of dozens of flings, affairs, and one-night stands−and a solid motive for the widow. Soon, what appeared to be a straight-forward case gets complicated. A witness goes missing, a second body turns up, the victim’s cousin disappears, and an old flame surfaces. Faced with conflicting pieces of evidence, lies, and false alibis, Steven creates a psychological portrait of the killer. He realizes he’s looking for someone wearing a mask. But the killer is not the only one in disguise.

Two months ago, Steven came face-to-face with 21st-century journalist Olivia Watson when time folded over in the house they share−80 years apart. They’ve experimented within the safety of its walls and proven Einstein was right: there is no past, present, or future. All time exists simultaneously. Now, Steven and Olivia test the boundaries of time travel, risking the exposure of their secret. Olivia travels to Steven’s time, where she is embraced by the community, unaware of who she really is. She unwittingly falls in with Steven’s main suspect, putting her own life in jeopardy.

Can Olivia outsmart a killer before becoming the next victim? Can Steven and Olivia solve the case of the poisoned philanderer in time to protect her true identity and their time-travel secret?

Available at your favorite bookstore and


Plenty of authors create a clever premise, but few create a world so crystal clear that we feel as if we’re a part of it. With a cast of well-crafted characters and a protagonist that charms on every page, Pouliot accomplishes just that in this compelling time-travel mystery that traverses seamlessly between 1934 and the present day.      Judy Penz Sheluk, Author of the Glass Dolphin and Marketville Mysteries. 

How can a police procedural be so much fun? Clever and compelling, this intriguing time-traveling puzzle will keep you guessing, keep you turning pages, and have you applauding the talented Carol Pouliot’s juggling skills! Nick & Nora meet Timeless in this entertaining mystery.      Hank Phillippi Ryan. Nationally best-selling author of The Murder List 


The Blackwell and Watson Time-Travel Mysteries
Book 1

Secrets lurk in a small New York town and betrayal is just around the corner. The morning after the worst blizzard of 1934, Detective Steven Blackwell takes on a highly charged murder case. The investigation starts badly: one clue, lots of lies and alibis. To make things worse, he’s seeing visions of a strange woman in his house.

One night, the mysterious woman speaks. Her name is Olivia and she lives in 2014. She believes time has folded over in the house they share. As their relationship deepens, Steven’s investigation intensifies. Soon, he can no longer trust anyone in his own time.

Can Olivia help him crack the case—and catch a killer?

Available at your favorite bookstore and


Mystery. Romance. Time-travel adventure. DOORWAY TO MURDER is the total package. Carol Pouliot interweaves the past and present as easily as I turned the pages. I highly recommend this fun read.
     Betsy Bitner, award-winning humor columnist, Times Union, Albany, NY

DTM Catriona

With its fresh premise covering two eras that crackle off the page, Carol Pouliot introduces compelling characters to lead her series forward. Add a sharply written mystery with clever plot twists, and you have all the elements that make DOORWAY TO MURDER an accomplished debut.
     Marni Graff, award-winning author of The Nora Tierney series